Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Roush Fenway Racing celebrate 2011 NASCAR Nationwide Series titles

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. does a handstand next to the championship trophy after winning the 2011 NASCAR Nationwide Series championship at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Nov. 19.


MIAMI BEACH, Fla. - NASCAR's future was front and center Monday night as four champions in two national series were crowned.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., 24 and Austin Dillon, 21, officially were proclaimed champions of the NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, respectively, on the Americana Ballroom stage at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel.

Both were honored with their first NASCAR national series titles. Each became champion in the season following a rookie-of-the-year performance. Dillon becomes the youngest champion in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series' 17-year history. Both champions won twice during the 2011 season.

Roush Fenway Racing's No. 60 Ford Mustang won the NASCAR Nationwide Series Owner Championship, as driver Carl Edwards won eight times. The title is the second in the series for Jack Roush, his previous owner championship coming in 2002.

It also marked the first time that the same owner claimed both the NASCAR Nationwide Series driver and owner titles with different teams.

Timmy Hill, an 18-year-old Maryland competitor, won NASCAR Nationwide Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year honors by a single point, tying the series' closest decision for that award.

Elliott Sadler, Justin Allgaier, Aric Almirola and Reed Sorenson finished second through fifth in the championship standings and were honored along with Stenhouse in the NASCAR Nationwide Series.

After a fan vote on NASCAR.com, in which more than 215,000 combined votes were cast, each series' Most Popular Driver was revealed. Sadler and Dillon were chosen by the fans in the NASCAR Nationwide and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, respectively. Each was honored for the first time.

Speed's Rick Allen and Krista Voda hosted the event, which will air on Dec. 2 from 7-9 p.m. ET on SPEED, prior to the live telecast of the 2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards Ceremony from Las Vegas.

Trending Discussions

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join NNS Racing

You must be a member of NNS Racing to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at NNS Racing. You should read them.

Join NNS Racing

You must be a member of NNS Racing to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at NNS Racing. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.