clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kyle Busch on Daytona pole after qualifying rained out

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Defending NASCAR Nationwide Series champion Kyle Busch will start from the pole in Saturday's DRIVE4COPD 300 at Daytona International Speedway after qualifying Friday was rained out.

The 43-car field was set by the Nationwide rulebook, with the top 30 from 2009's owners standings getting the first 30 spots.

Starting second is Roush Fenway Racing's Carl Edwards, with JR Motorsports' Dale Earnhardt Jr. third, Kevin Harvick Inc.'s Kevin Harvick fourth and Richard Childress Racing's John Wes Townley fifth.

JRM's Danica Patrick will start 15th. The team made a deal to assume the owner points from CJM Racing last year, assuring Patrick a spot in the field.

The 31st and 32nd positions go to 2009 driver winners, Greg Biffle and Tony Stewart, respectively. The 33rd spot goes to a past champion, Jeff Green.

The remainder of the field was filled by qualifying draw.

Missing the race will be Jeremy Clements, Kevin Lepage, John Borneman III, Brett Rowe, Derrike Cope, Johnny
Chapman, Jason Keller and Shelby Howard.

See the lineup here.