clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Joey Logano wins his third Nationwide Series pole of the season

FORT WORTH, Texas - Joe Gibbs Racing's Joey Logano won his third NASCAR Nationwide Series pole of the season, qualifying first Friday for the O'Reilly 300 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Logano turned a lap of 185.663 mph to edge Richard Childress Racing's Clint Bowyer, who went 185.376 mph as a replacement for John Wes Townley.

Logano's teammate, Kyle Busch,will start third in his attempt to win his fifth consecutive series race at Texas. That would match the record held by Dale Earnhardt (Daytona) and Jack Ingram (South Boston).

Carl Edwards qualified fourth, with teammate Ricky Stenhouse Jr. fifth. The rest of the top 10 were Jason Leffler, Jamie McMurray, Steve Wallace, Paul Menard and Brian Scott.

Jason Keller, Derrike Cope, Josh Wise and Morgan Shepherd failed to qualify.

See the starting lineup here.