clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chart of the week: King Keselowski?

By Bill Marx
Sporting News NASCAR Wire Service

Brad Keselowski won the NASCAR Nationwide Series race last week at Nashville to give him a 196-point lead over second-place Kyle Busch after 13 races.

That’s a big lead, but not an insurmountable one.

As the chart shows, in the previous 10 seasons three drivers have overcome larger deficits after 13 races to win the championship.

Year Leader Lead Second Champion
2010 Brad Keselowski 196 Kyle Busch
2009 Kyle Busch 65 Carl Edwards Busch
2008 Clint Bowyer 67 Kyle Busch Bowyer
2007 Carl Edwards 423 Kevin Harvick Edwards
2006 Kevin Harvick 348 Carl Edwards Harvick
2005 Carl Edwards 171 Clint Bowyer Martin Truex Jr. (4th, -230)
2004 Kyle Busch 38 Martin Truex Jr. Truex
2003 Todd Bodine 98 David Green Brian Vickers (8th, -209)
2002 Jason Keller 21 Jack Sprague Greg Biffle (6th, -206)
2001 Kevin Harvick 71 Jeff Green Harvick
2000 Jeff Green 93 Todd Bodine Jeff Green