clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR's Nationwide Series schedule down to 33 races

Special to Sporting News NASCAR Wire Service

The 2012 NASCAR Nationwide Series schedule will consist of 33 races, down one from the 34-race schedule in 2011.

NASCAR released the schedule Wednesday. All of the changes had been previously announced:

  • Nashville Superspeedway, which had two races this year, opted not to have any NASCAR races in 2012.
  • Kentucky Speedway gets one of the Nashville dates.
  • The Indianapolis race has moved from Lucas Oil Raceway to Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The race at Montreal is back on the schedule after months of speculation that it might be dropped after the promoter did not get financial incentives from the government to market the race.

2012 Nationwide Series schedule

Feb. 25 Daytona International Speedway
March 3 Phoenix International Raceway
March 10 Las Vegas Motor Speedway
March 17 Bristol Motor Speedway
March 24 Auto Club (Calif.) Speedway
April 13 Texas Motor Speedway
April 27 Richmond International Raceway
May 5 Talladega Superspeedway
May 11 Darlington Raceway
May 20 Iowa Speedway
May 26 Charlotte Motor Speedway
June 2 Dover International Speedway
June 16 Michigan International Speedway
June 23 Road America
June 29 Kentucky Speedway
July 6 Daytona International Speedway
July 14 New Hampshire Motor Speedway
July 22 Chicagoland Speedway
July 28 Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Aug. 4 Iowa Speedway
Aug. 11 Watkins Glen International
Aug. 18 Circuit Gilles Villeneuve (Montreal)
Aug. 24 Bristol Motor Speedway
Sept. 1 Atlanta Motor Speedway
Sept. 7 Richmond International Raceway
Sept. 15 Chicagoland Speedway
Sept. 22 Kentucky Speedway
Sept. 29 Dover International Speedway
Oct. 12 Charlotte Motor Speedway
Oct. 20 Kansas Speedway
Nov. 3 Texas Motor Speedway
Nov. 10 Phoenix International Raceway
Nov. 17 Homestead-Miami Speedway